Zoom in Regular Zoom out

Board of Directors


Position Name Committees & Other  Roles
Branch President Ross Gillespie Ex Officio All Committees
1st Vice President Rick Brick Health Benefits Officer,
2nd Vice President Dave Riffel Chair Governance, On Advocacy, Communications.     Also, in the NAFR District Organization is Branch Services Coordinator (BSC) for Alberta
Secretary Joan Brick
Treasurer Clay Kolstad Chair Finance
Immediate Past Pres. Brian Emdin Chair Advocacy, On Communications,     Also, in the NAFR District Organization is Advocacy Program Officer (APO) for Alberta
Board of Directors
Member-at-Large Delbert Dahl Assistant Treasurer, On Finance, Governance
Member-at-Large Mahir Mansi Purchaser, On Finance
Member-at-Large Judy Tracz Branch Service Phone Monitor
Member-at-Large Heather-Anne Elliott-Martin Chair Membership, On Communications
Member-at-Large Lillian June** Chair Social, Membership Assistant, On Communications
Member-at-Large Mick Rempel Web Administrator, Communications
Member-at-Large Linda Phillips
Member-at-Large Sylvia Kennedy
Editor, Branch Report Mick Rempel


Governance = Bylaws, Resolutions Finance = Financial Records & Policy and Purchasing
Member Services = Information on Pension, Health and Other Benefits Social = General Membership and other meeting planning, Social Contact Lists
Communications = Website, Email and Other Communications Nominations Committee is chaired by the Past President
Membership = Record Keeping and Member Inquiries Advocacy = Regional and National Advocacy


Executive positions have 2 year terms and are filled by election at the Annual General Meeting held at the Spring of each year. Half of the positions are filled each year. The President, 2nd Vice President and Treasurer are filled in even numbered years and the First Vice President and Secretary are filled in odd numbered years Their terms of office run from the date of their election until another election is held for the same position approximately 2 years later. (In 2016, the First Vice President and Secretary positions were elected to one year terms after the First Vice President was elected as President and the Secretary position had been occupied by an Acting Secretary.)

Board of Director positions are filled by appointment. Individuals who may be interested in participating on the board are invited to attend board meetings as a friend of the board. They can participate in discussions, but cannot vote on motions. If they have continuing interest they may be proposed for board membership by a motion made and seconded by existing board members. If the motion is carried, the President will appoint the individual as a Director-at-Large and he or she will be invited to participate on committees.

Friends of the Board include:

  • Branch Members who have expressed an interest in or who have been invited to attend board meetings and are exploring becoming board members,
  • Branch members who are unable to, or do not wish to participate as full board members maintain a connection to the board as a Friend of the Board. They participate on committees and/or assist at our functions.
  • Former board members who have “taken a step back” from full participation on the board.

The following are currently Friends of the Board.

William Karpo **, Bill Lundquist, Tom Charchuk**, Agnes Gushaty, Marilyn Gushaty, Willy Williams,  Doreen Morton*, Jacqueline Blevins and Janet Kerr.

*   Life Member of the National Association

** Life Member of Edmonton Branch